Skip to content

Check a remodeler before you call. MNRenovate looks up Plymouth, Minnetonka and Wayzata kitchen and addition contractors in public records and on their own sites, and links every fact to its source and date. No firm pays to be listed. AI-researched; no remodeling pro has reviewed it yet. Spot an error? corrections@mnrenovate.com

MNRenovate

Contractor sheet

J. Carsten Remodeling

No logo shown. We show a firm's logo and photos only once the firm gives us written permission.

Visit the firm's website · Back to the A to Z list

Sheet
S-1 detail
Status
AI research draft, human review pending

Draft. AI research draft, human review pending. This firm has not been contacted and has not confirmed this page. Nothing here says it would take your project.

Decision panel

Should I call J. Carsten Remodeling?

Good fit if

  • You are planning a kitchen remodel or home addition and your home is in Plymouth, which the firm names on its own site.
  • You want a firm whose Minnesota DLI record read "Issued" when we looked (BC808116).
  • You want to see the firm's steps before you call: its site describes a process.

Look elsewhere if

  • Your home is in Minnetonka or Wayzata. The firm does not name them on the pages we read, so ask before assuming it works there.

What we do not know

  • The smallest project it takes. No minimum is published.
  • When it could start. No start date is published.
  • Any completed project we could tie to a cost or a city.
  • How much the design fee is. The site mentions it without an amount.
  • Whether it would take your project. We have not contacted the firm.

Three questions to ask this firm

  1. What is the smallest project J. Carsten Remodeling takes? Tell them your budget first, since no minimum is published.
  2. Your site mentions a design agreement or fee. What does it cost, and is it credited if I build with you?
  3. Do you take projects in Minnetonka and Wayzata? Your site does not name those cities.

What its own website says

Read on across 14 pages of the firm's site. These are dated facts from our disclosures study, not a score. Not found means not found on those pages, and the firm may say it elsewhere.

License number shown
Yes
Process described
Yes
Design fee mentioned
Yes
Minimum or starting budget stated
Yes
Warranty mentioned
Yes, terms given
Service area stated
Yes
Named owner or team
Yes

Its Minneapolis permits

We found no residential permit under the names we tried in the City of Minneapolis permit file, read on . That does not mean the firm did no work there: names can be spelled differently on a permit.

Minneapolis is not one of the three cities we cover, so this does not show work in your city. It shows only what a public record holds. See the permit record study for the match method and its limits.

Built from the sourced facts below and the disclosures study. It describes what the firm names and what is missing. It does not rate the firm, and no one at the firm has reviewed it. AI research draft, human review pending.

What the firm says it does

  • Published by contractor

    The Plymouth page lists kitchen remodeling 'from design to completion' and, in its FAQ, says the firm specializes in kitchen and bathroom remodeling, home additions, basement conversions and full-home renovations.

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: From the firm's own site; does not say what size of project it prefers.

Where it says it works

  • Published by contractor

    The page is headed 'Home Remodeling Contractor In Plymouth', says it serves the Twin Cities metro, and lists an office at 3405 56th St NE, Buffalo, MN. Minnetonka and Wayzata are not named.

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: From the firm's own site; does not confirm the firm will take a project in your city or of your size.

Minnesota license record

  • Official record checked

    Minnesota DLI record BC808116: type "Residential Contractors", status "Issued", expiration 03/31/2028. Licensee name on the record: Kuopus Holdings LLC (3405 56th St NE). The firm's site lists this license number and the same street address; the legal name on the record differs from the trade name.

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: Public DLI lookup run 2026-11-06; shows only what the record said on that date. Does not cover insurance, complaints, work quality, or whether the licensee is the exact firm you would hire; confirm current status yourself before signing.

Project minimum

Not confirmed

This firm's site states no minimum that we could find. Ask what the smallest project it accepts is.

Design fees

Not confirmed

Ask whether design is charged separately, and whether the fee is credited if you build with them.

Availability

Not confirmed

No start date is published. Ask how soon they could start and what finishes first.

Reviews, records and open questions

Look up this firm yourself

We do not repeat star ratings, grades or review text from other sites. Read the recent reviews yourself, including the low ones, and check the dates.

Memberships and awards the firm lists

  • Not independently verified

    The Houzz profile lists affiliations with Housing First Minnesota and NARI, and its About text mentions a NARI Contractor of the Year listing and a CKBR-NARI designation (a typo in the year was noted).

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: Self-entered profile text on Houzz; NARI Minnesota's directory page read did not list this firm (it showed only a spotlight member), so membership is unconfirmed.

  • Published by contractor

    The home page FAQ calls the firm NARI-certified kitchen and bath remodelers, shows NARI and BATC logos, and links to narimn.org. The page text does not state BATC membership.

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: Firm's own claim; not checked against association directories (NARI MN directory is a search app and BATC site returned no readable content).

  • Published by contractor

    The home page says the firm is award-winning and shows Houzz service and design 2025 logos and a NARI Contractor of the Year logo, with no award details beyond the logos.

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: Logos only; award categories and years other than the Houzz 2025 logos are not stated.

Process and warranty the firm publishes

  • Published by contractor

    The home page FAQ describes the first step as an initial phone consultation followed by a meeting at the home to review plans, and says design can range from simple concept drawings to full 3-D renderings. It says 'Our Work is Guaranteed' without warranty terms, and gives no design fee, no process steps (refers to the About page) and no timeline.

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: From the firm's own site; describes what the firm says it does, not what it delivers.

Open questions from our research

  • Not independently verified

    BC808116 appears as the license number on the firm's own site footer and on its Houzz profile, matching the DLI record for Kuopus Holdings LLC already in contractors.json. That shows the firm presents this license number, not who owns the entity.

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: Confidence medium. Third-party copies of state data are not the Minnesota DLI record; confirm at the DLI lookup before relying on this.

  • Not independently verified

    No loaded source states that J. Carsten Remodeling is a trade name of Kuopus Holdings LLC. The firm's site and Houzz and GuildQuality pages give no legal entity. The word Kuopus appears on the home page only inside a customer review that names an owner with that surname; this suggests a possible owner link but is not a stated trade-name relationship. Minnesota Secretary of State assumed-name filing was not queried (form app).

    Source · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: Confidence low. Nothing conclusive was found. Third-party copies of state data are not the Minnesota DLI record; confirm at the DLI lookup before relying on this.

  • Not independently verified

    Plymouth evidence not searched beyond the firm's own Plymouth page already in contractors.json.

    No source found; searched by AI research draft on 2026-11-06 · Checked · AI research draft, human review pending

    Limits: Confidence low. Nothing conclusive was found. Third-party copies of state data are not the Minnesota DLI record; confirm at the DLI lookup before relying on this.

Searched for, not found or not checked

  • J. Carsten BBB profile: not found (BBB category listings in search previews show the name, but no profile page with rating/accreditation could be loaded)
  • J. Carsten Remodeling or Kuopus Holdings in BBB Buffalo remodeling category page 1: not found
  • J. Carsten written Houzz review text: not found on page read
  • J. Carsten NARI Minnesota directory listing: not found
  • J. Carsten BATC directory: not checked (batc.org returned no readable content)
  • J. Carsten DLI enforcement action: not found in 2024 and 2025 DLI residential building contractor action lists, searched for Carsten, Kuopus and Myrlie
  • J. Carsten DLI 2023 action list: not checked (file did not load)
  • J. Carsten design fee and warranty terms: not found
  • Kuopus Holdings trade-name relationship: not found on any source loaded
  • Yelp: no matching listing found by the listing lookup